The most intimate portrait

by bethanybump

Jane Mount paints people’s ideal bookshelves: your favorite books, books that changed your life, books that made you who you are.

Here’s what she has to say about the project: “Picking your ideal books is not an easy task (try it!), and the results are always enlightening. I think of this project as an intimate form of portraiture; a way to illustrate who the subject is on the inside instead of out. I love that a book is something created very personally and then mass-produced in order to affect many other people very personally. I paint them to turn them back into something very personal and intimate. In the age of the Kindle, it’s very satisfying.”

I adore this concept. What would your ideal bookshelf look like?

I think I would include books from every year of my life that changed my world. A Wrinkle in Time, Where the Red Fern Grows (to this day, I’ve re-read this book the most), The Fountainhead, An Invisible Sign of My Own, Harry Potter (of course!), A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, Great Expectations, Mrs. Dalloway….. ahhh, OK, there’s so many more I can’t even think of.

I remember reading The Hobbit in sixth grade and being absolutely convinced that a world like that existed. I remember reading The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe and feeling as though I had dreamt that story already. I remember reading The Fountainhead in middle school and weeping afterward and having no idea why.

The ideal bookshelf is personal. I would love to request my own painting.

