I think I need a sunrise, I’m tired of the sunset

by bethanybump

Many things can change over the course of a few months. Everything can change in the course of an instant. Looking back at this semester, I see many positives of what I’ve gone through. But, sadly, I see more of the negatives, and I reflect only sometimes on who my friends used to be. Because I can’t force friendship and because I can’t force the right principles in other people, I can only stand by in the corner, in the shadows, and watch things I once cared about slip away. For a short period of time, it was easy to let these things get to me. For a much longer period of time, up until recently, it was far easier for me to stand firm and be untouchable. I would not let things outside of my control affect me. I would do what I had to do, and I would do it alone, and that was okay. It still is. Recently, however, I think I’m beginning to realize that nobody can stay a rock forever. We ARE human, and whether we like it or not, we ARE vulnerable. I am a person and I acknowledge that these things do disappoint me very much so. But because there is not too much I can do about other people and things out of my control, I can only move on and not look back. I will try my hardest not to look over my shoulder.

I will hope though, that at some point, people realize the affect they can have on others and why things turned out this way.

