You’ve gotta swim, swim for your life

by bethanybump

Hi, this is your life.

 

There was a phase I went through when I thought there might be days I would wake up and say, “I don’t feel like writing today.” So far, this hasn’t held true. In the least.

 

I absolutely love writing, in any respect.

 

Tomorrow means a lot. In fact, I think it means a little too much for me. I am interviewing for an editor position at the Daily Orange at 8:20 p.m. If I don’t get the job, I can’t pretend I won’t be disappointed. It will be a hefty dose of disappointment, also. I want want want want want want this job! I wonder if there’s a bit of hubris on my part, though. I am sort of expecting to get it. But then, I also think, if I don’t get it, that the news team will be missing out big time. I have a lot to offer. I am confident in that. OK, I shouldn’t doubt my confidence, right? That would just get messy…

 

Winter is upon us here folk in Syracuse, NY. I like the snow and the cold actually. It’s not so bad. I like being busy. I hope the editor-in-chief at the DO realizes that I will devote everything to the paper to make it the best it can be. OK, somehow that just came out… lol. I guess I should save it for the interview.

 

I just have to study for human nature tonight, then I am pretty much done for the week. Aside from a fair share of errands I have to run before I leave for Thanksgiving break on Tuesday. The good thing is, I’m not missing my Monday and Tuesday classes like a lot of students do.

 

Thanksgiving beak will be BUSY busy busy for me. I have to look and apply for internships for the summer. Complete a hefty dose of reading for my ethnic conflict and religion class. Write drafts for both of those classes. Start studying for finals, since my two hardest ones are the earliest ones for me and also on the same day. Poo. I want to go to the library too and get a few books my ethnic conflict TA recommended me. I also want to read some Agatha Christie. I don’t know why, but I always feel like reading her when the holidays roll around.

 

I can’t wait to breathe a sigh of relief when December 12 rolls around and I am done with Fall semester! I will have all the time in the world to do pleasure reading (something I sincerely miss), hang out with the family and my cutey patootie nephew, see my friends, workout and hopefully lose all this excess weight I’ve managed to gain and SLEEP. The one thing that could make it better though, would be knowing that I secured the position as assistant news editor. I hope I didn’t just jinx myself somehow. I need to stop talking.

